Welcome to Department of Geography

The department was established in the year 1964 when erstwhile Holkar College was bifurcated in two separates colleges – Holkar Science College and Government Arts and Commerce College. Ever since the department of Geography worked as a degree class department, but in view of growing number of students opting geography subject. The department was upgraded as a fully-fledged post graduate department in the year 1969. The teaching staff was not enough for the large number of students but soon arrangements were made to force more qualified teachers. When the department was granted the status of a post graduate department, it slowly began to develop as the only research centre under the jurisdiction of formerly university of Indore. Highly qualified Professors are available to guide research scholar.

The department is fortunate to obtain the services of such eminent geographers such as Dr. Ujager Singh, Banaras Hindu University and Dr. A.B. Bhattacharya of Mohanlal Sukhadia University, Udaipur. The department was also visited by Dr. A.B. Mukerji, Punjab University; Chandigarh, Dr. S.N. Malhotra, Gwalior; Prof. M. Shaffi, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh; Prof. Moonis Raza, V.C. of Jawaharlal Nehru University; Prof. Aizajuddin Ahmad of JNU and Dr. Indrapal, Department of Aridity, Rajasthan University, Jaipur.

Geographers of new era Dr. N.C. Goutam, formerly head of Landuse Department of National Remote Sensing Agency, Department of Space, Government of India, Hyderabad; Dr. H.S. Sharma, Jaipur. Dr. H.N. Mishra, Allahabad; Dr. B.C. Vaidhya, Pune; Dr. Jagdish Singh and V.K. Shrivastava, Gorakhpur; Dr. S.K. Sharma and Dr. Santosh Shukla of H.S. Gaur Vishwavidhyalaya; Dr. Y.G. Joshi, Ex-Professor and Ex-President of NAGI were visited the department for conducting Ph.D. viva-voce. Ex-Head of this department Prof. A. A. Abbasi also honoured as a Vice Chancellor of Devi Ahilya Vishwavidhyalaya, Indore is always available to give valuable guidance for faculty members and students.

Curriculum Planning and Implementation:
The department follows curriculum given by central UGC and Devi Ahilya Vishwavidhyalaya, Indore. In PG course, all the papers are compulsory in I, II, III, semester while in IV sem. only one paper – Research Methodology is compulsory and rest of three papers are optional, followed as designed by State Board of Studies. The syllabus is completed according to planner. In post graduate classes up to third semester all four papers and practical I and II are compulsory but in IV semester only one paper – Research Methodology in geography and practical geography is compulsory and rest of papers are optional and any three can be chosen from – Remote Sensing Techniques, Geography of population, Regional Planning and Development, Biogeography, Geography of Health, Geography of Manufacturing and Practical Geography. The work is equally distributed among the faculty members by HOD in the starting of semesters all level. Two way process of teaching – teacher-taught relationship with the help of question answer, audio visual aids, charts, maps, modals, field study, group discussion and seminar.

Teaching learning and Evaluation:
The students studying in the department are belonging to rural and tribal areas and their level of education is totally different, we tried to explain them the subject from grassroots level. We help them to prepare for different competitive exams. We take special classes for weaker students, we also motivate PG students for peer teaching, the practical lab work and field work with socio-economic field survey is part of curriculum at PG and UG level. Though we do not have lab facility for GIS, GPS and RS and aerial photograph but we provide theoretical knowledge to them.

Teaching Learning Process:
We use various techniques for learning – group discussion, class seminar and peer teaching. We always explain the topic - conceptual and applied aspects – land form studies, traffic flow, study of slums (socio-economic), urban and rural land-use. We organize extension lectures of interdisciplinary approach for the updation of knowledge of faculty and student. Once in a month a group discussion of faculty members on any topic of syllabus is arranged for refreshing the subject.

© 2019 Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Govt. Arts & Commerce College, Indore. All Rights Reserved.